Posted by: Elder and Sister Hambelton | October 16, 2012

I”ve Looked at Clouds from Both Sides Now . . .

Joni Mitchell wrote a beautiful ballad back in 1969 about clouds and love. Well, we absolutely love the incredible cloud formations in Scotland. They are so amazing, they are incredible backdrops to so many of our pictures. They filter the light, they make such a dramatic compliment to the medieval ruins and castles. They contrast with the azure blue sky when it appears.

They also bring wind and rain and cold. They hide the all too brief daylight and they make you want to stay inside, but it is Scotland of course, so you go. We’ve looked at clouds from both sides now.

“Bows and flows of angel hair and ice cream castles in the air
and feather canyons everywhere, I’ve looked at clouds that way.
But now they only block the sun, they rain and snow on everyone.
So many things I would have done but clouds got in my way.

I’ve looked at clouds from both sides now,
from up and down, and still somehow
it’s cloud illusions I recall.
I really don’t know clouds at all.”

Here are our some of our favorite cloud pictures, just wish we could more adequately capture their majesty and grandeur:

Responses

  1. Aahh yes, the clouds! They were a feature attraction for me while on my mission in Wales! And the ancient buildings, bridges, fences, etc..just added that much more romance to the total image, I miss that! So glad you are enjoying it all!

  2. That was me, Betty Fleming!!

  3. Thanks for sharing the beauty and majesty of the UK…we wish we were there. We miss you but are thrilled that you are having such a wonderful
    experience. With our love, Keith & Jennette Buhler

  4. Great pictures. Maybe they have such special clouds is because the sun never really does have a whole day to itself. When Bishop Hotchkiss picked me up at the airport in 2005 it was raining cats and dogs and he asked me if I remembered what I used to say about the rain in Scotland? I replied I could not remember. He said I used to say it only rains twice a year in Scotland. From January to July and from July to December. 🙂

    Keith

  5. Elder & Sister Hambelton
    Greetings from rainy Boise – yes we’ve had our clouds this past week. Fall (winter? Snow on Table Rock this week – of course it melted) has certainly arrived. Life is good for the Cottle’s. We talk more about “our missions” when we see the beautiful experience you have been having. Let’s FaceTime again.
    Have a great Sabbath.
    Bill & Alice


Leave a Reply

Categories